Trophy winners 2019

The Harry Hudson Rodmell Salver for Best Exhibit in the Exhibition

awarded to Janet Thackray for ‘Granny’s Mangle’ (watercolour)



The Lady Strickland-Constable Trophy for Portraiture (human only)

awarded to Graham Chambers for ‘The “Coop”‘ (watercolour)


The Wynn Harrison Trophy for Flower Painting

awarded to Jane Topham for ‘In the Garden’ (textile)



The Dick French Trophy for a Landscape

awarded to Jan Stott for ‘Moorland Colours’ (pastel)


The John Lloyd Harris Salver for an East Riding scene

awarded to Pam Williams for ‘Winter Walk, Leven Canal’ (watercolour)


The Molly & Frank Wainwright Trophy for A View of Hornsea

awarded to Phil Ramsdale for ‘Hornsea’ (watercolour)


The Eileen Meacock Memorial Trophy for Monochrome

awarded to Phil Ramsdale for ‘Race’ (ink)


The Hornsea Art Society Award for Abstract & Contemporary

awarded to Gillian Sturt for ‘Morning Dew’ (mixed media)


The Phyllis Cox Trophy for Sculpture

awarded to Mick Webb for ‘Hooked on You’ (steel)


The Mally Simons trophy for anything outside the listed categories

awarded to Steve Truelove for ‘At What Point?’ (mixed media)


The Alan Marsh Memorial Trophy – 2019 designated theme ‘What lies beneath’

awarded to Phil Hargreaves for ‘Catch Another Butterfly’ (collage)


The Catherine Hainsworth Award for Animals and Wildlife

awarded to Kate Gendle for ‘Crow’ (etching)


The Rod and Mavis Hardwick Memorial Trophy for Nostalgia

awarded to Janet Thackeray for ‘Granny’s Mangle’ (watercolour) 


The Singleton Rose Bowl awarded to the artwork collecting most votes from visitors to the annual exhibition

to be awarded at a later date


The Mike Gunnell Shield to a Hornsea Community Primary School Pupil, Year 6, for Creative Ability

awarded to Riley Voase


The Geoff Bell Trophy to a Hornsea Burton Primary School Pupil, Year 6, for Creative Ability

awarded to Harley Babcock